Gift From the Sea

Gift_from_the_sea_by_anne_morrow_liI rarely read a book twice ~ there are just too many books to read ~ but I have read Gift from the Sea by Anne Morrow Lindbergh three times, over 10 year intervals, and I have loved it more with each reading. It shocks me that it was written in 1955, before I was even born. Lindbergh’s reflections on youth and age, love and marriage, peace, solitude and contentment are as relevant today as they were then. I kept a highlighter pen beside me as I read to note the wisest passages and now my book is filled with bright orange lines. It is a short book, but I have highlighted dozens of passages. A couple that really spoke to me are these:

But I want first of all – in fact, as an end to these other desires – to be at peace with myself. I want a singleness of eye, a purity of intention, a central core to my life that will enable me to carry out these obligations and activities as well as I can. I want, in fact – to borrow from the language of the saints – to live “in grace” as much of the time as possible.

Only when one is connected to one’s own core is one connected to others, I am beginning to discover. And, for me, the core, the inner spring, can best be refound through solitude.

How I would love to have known this wise, articulate woman.

 

3 thoughts on “Gift From the Sea

  1. Shelley, I haven’t read Lindbergh’s book, but you make it sound so compelling that I might! I reminds me of reading Pilgrim At Tinker Creek by Annie Dillard, another contemplative book from the seventies that I remember being quite gentle and insightful. I probably read it back in my East Coast days, sitting out in the garden of my grandmother’s Cape Cod house, quietly soaking in everything around me. I certainly miss those days.

Leave a Reply

