Wow. That Woman Can Write!

flight-behaviorFlight Behavior, by Barbara Kingsolver, is by far the best book I read this summer. (Well, State of Wonder by Ann Patchett was right up there. Two amazing books. One summer. Yes!)

From the back cover… “In a dazzling page-turner…Kingsolver quietly questions the future of our fragile planet.” (Elle)

That quote sums the book up nicely. I am flabbergasted at the way she can weave all kinds of science into a thoroughly compelling story.

Although the characters were unlike any people I know, they were fully nuanced, believable and sympathetic.

Okay, I suspect that at book club next week there will be some grumbling about ‘too much butterfly information’. Kingsolver certainly did her research and she did risk overloading the reader with too many facts, but I thought she did an impressive job of telling a story first, then subtlety sliding in an urgent message about climate change. This book entertains like a novel should, while simultaneously delivering unsettling scientific facts.

I feel less guilty about my obsessive novel-reading habit when I know I am learning something too.

3 thoughts on “Wow. That Woman Can Write!

  1. I do love Barbara Kingsolver. I didn’t feel that there was too much info in there, and she did do a veru good job of getting her point across in a story. but then, that’s what she does best.

Leave a Reply

